Entry1_BuiHoangDinh

19 Sep

Entry 1_BuiHoangDinh

Item 1: Poem

My Heart Leaps Up by William Wordsworth

“My heart leaps up when I behold
A rainbow in the sky.
So was it when my life began;
So is it now I am a man;
So be it when I grow old,
Or let me die!
The Child is father of the Man;
And I could wish my days to be
Bound each to each by natural piety.”
• Rhyme: behold – old; sky – die; began – man; be – piety.
• Paradox: The child is father of the man

Implications:
The author William Wordsworth means that the child in every person teaches him to appreciate nature from the simplest beauty of rainbows to other natural wonders. What we think as children will orient and determine how we think as adults. It is that our heart speaks for our brains, not in such exacting words. If we are children at heart, our inner child will dictate all the great and the wonderful things that we find in life. If we aren’t born with an inner child, our life will lack that, and we might even lose control of it.
Also, in the lines following “the child is the father of the man”, the author implies his hope to always love nature as he did as a child.

Item 2:

At 3 years ”Mommy I love you.”
At 14 years ”Mom whatever.”
At 16 years “My mom is so annoying.”
At 18 years “I’m leaving this house.”
At 25 years ”Mom, you were right”.
At 30 years “‘I want to go to Mom’s house.”
At 50 years ”I don’t want to lose my mom.”
At 70 years “I would give up everything to have my mom here with me.”
You only have one mom…love your mom with all your heart!

Rhetorical Devices:
• Repetition
• Parallelism
• Climax

Moral lesson: Whatever happens, mom always is the one extremely important to your life.

Item 3: Cartoon

• Gender Inequality

• Description:
This cartoon is towards the economic stimulus package of Australia Government to carry Australia through the global financial crisis, maintain employment, save jobs and support the economic and social wellbeing of Australian families.
The wealth of evidence which shows that money earned, or controlled, by mothers is more likely to be spent on children than money earned by fathers. In other words, if the policy aim is to provide economic security for families and enhance the living standards of children, then financial resources should be targeted to women rather than men
The national 20% gender pay gap, meaning that women on average in Australia earn 20% less than men and therefore have less income to spend on the family –> Unfair distribution of the economic package.
In general, woman spending a higher proportion of her funds on the needs of other members of the family (compared with the man) and having less to spend on her own needs compared with men. –> Women take higher responsible for family than men –> Gender Inequality

REFERENCE

http://www.umiacs.umd.edu/~ridge/local/mhlu.html

http://www.experienceproject.com/stories/Want-U-To–Read-This/1708579

http://www.australian-options.org.au/issues/options_57/article_bunning.php

5 Responses to “Entry1_BuiHoangDinh”

  1. nguyenhuyenmy09e24 September 22, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    i especially like your second item, however, I think you should show clearer about what rhetorical is. I mean you should give the example for your rhetoricals. If you do that, your entry is much better

  2. nguyenthihuyen September 22, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    I have the same point with My that your second item is very nice and meaningful but your entry would be much better if you can analyze the rhetorical devices clearer.
    Your third item is about the distribution economic stumulus package for men and women in Australia. However, from my perspective, I have another way of analyzing this pic. The woman and the children may imply the lower class and the man with a formal suit can imply the upper class in the society. And in the crisis, the fiancial aids are distributed unequally among classes.

  3. nguyenthihuyen September 22, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    I have the same point with My that your second item is very nice and meaningful but your entry would be much better if you can analyze the rhetorical devices clearer.
    Your third item is about the distribution economic stumulus package for men and women in Australia. However, from my perspective, I have another way of analyzing this pic. The woman and the children may imply the lower class and the man with a formal suit can imply the upper class in the society. And in the crisis, the fiancial aids are distributed unequally among classes. Besides, you should find out the rhetorical devices which the author used in the picture.

  4. dothihonghanh September 28, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    I agree with your rhetorical devices in the 1st and 2nd items, but as My said, you should point out examples of each rhetorical device to help readers understand more. In addition, the implication in the first item is too long and far from the poem. it maybe overstatement. Besides, the second item already got the message that is the last sentence of the poem. For the last item, i share the point with Huyen, I think it is not only the gender Inequality but also class discrimination.

    • ct09e24 October 10, 2011 at 2:03 am #

      i highly appreciate your contributions to my entry. however, regarding the 3rd item, in this specific context, the picture only implies gender inequality, not class discrimination at all.

Leave a Reply

