ENTRY 1_NguyenThiHuyen

20 Sep

ENTRY 1

Item 1: A story

7 wonders

A group of students was asked to list what they thought were the present Seven Wonders of the World. Though there was some disagreement, the following got the most votes:

1. Egypt’s Great Pyramids
2. Taj Mahal
3. Grand Canyon
4. Panama Canal
5. Empire State Building
6. St. Peter’s Basilica
7. China’s Great Wall

While gathering the votes, the teacher noted that one quiet student hadn’t turned in her paper yet. So she asked the girl if she was having trouble with her list.

The girl replied, “Yes, a little. I couldn’t quite make up my mindbecause there were so many.”

The teacher said, “Well, tell us what you have, and maybe we can help.” The girl hesitated, then read, “I think the Seven Wonders of the World are:

1. to touch
2. to taste
3. to see
4. to hear

She hesitated a little, and then added

5. to feel
6. to laugh!
7. and to love

The room was so full of silence you could have heard a pin drop. Those things we overlook as simple and “ordinary” are truly wondrous. A gentle reminder that the most precious things are before you: your family, your faith, your love, your good health and your friends.

1.     Rhetorical devices:

  • Parallelism:  to  touch- to taste- to see- to hear- to feel- to laugh- to love
  • Metaphor:

+ Egypt’s Great Pyramids, Taj Mahal,….- somethings which are so complicated and far from easy for us to reach.

+ to touch, to taste,…- simple things which sometimes we do not realize their values.

2.  Message:

Those things we overlook as simple and “ordinary” are truly wondrous. A gentle reminder that the most precious things are before you: your family, your faith, your love, your good health and your friends.

Item 2: A picture

1.  Description:

The picture is about an American man, sitting in front of a table full of food. On his right hand holds a piece of newspaper titled “East Africa Famine” but he ignores the news and continues his meal with the thought: “ Hey, most day my stomach hurts, too”.

2.  Rhetorical devices:

  • Irony:
  • Paradox: An obesity man >< an empty stomach

3.  Message:

The picture criticizes the people’s selfishness. They just want to take care themselves and ignore other unlucky people who really need their help to survive.

Item 3: A poem

My Mother

~Ann Taylor

Who fed me from her gentle breast,
And hushed me in her arms to rest,
And on my cheek sweet kisses prest?

My Mother.

When sleep forsook my open eye,
Who was it sung sweet hushaby,
And rocked me that I should not cry?

My Mother.

Who sat and watched my infant head,
When sleeping on my cradle bed,
And tears of sweet affection shed?

My Mother.

When pain and sickness made me cry,
Who gazed upon my heavy eye,
And wept for fear that I should die?

My Mother.

Who dressed my doll in clothes so gay,
And fondly taught me how to play,
And minded all I had to say?

Who ran to help me when I fell,
And would some pretty story tell,
Or kiss the place to make it well?

My Mother.

Who taught my infant lips to pray,
And love God’s holy book and day,
And walk in wisdom’s pleasant way?

My Mother.

And can I ever cease to be
Affectionate and kind to thee,
Who was so very kind to me,

My Mother?

Ah no! the thought I cannot bear,
And if God please my life to spare,
I hope I shall reward thy care,

My Mother.

And when I see thee hang thy head,
‘Twill be my turn to watch thy bed,
And tears of sweet affection shed,

My Mother.

For could our Father in the skies
Look down with pleased or loving eyes,
If ever I could dare despise

My Mother?

1.  Rhetorical devices:

  • Rhyme:  The last word in every sentence in each stanza. Ex: breast-rest- prest; eyes-hushby- cry ,….
  • Rhetorical question:

2.  Mesage:

The poem is the love of a little girl for her mother. For her, nowhere can she feel more inspired and beloved than in the blossom of her mother. It is also the beautiful love of any children in this world for their mum.

Sources:

Item 1: http://chickensoupstories.blogspot.com/

Item 2: http://offthemark.com/search-results/key/ironic/

Item 3: http://www.storyit.com/Classics/JustPoems/mymother.htm

8 Responses to “ENTRY 1_NguyenThiHuyen”

  1. phungvuchaulong September 21, 2011 at 2:45 am #

    in my opinion, the picture contains another meaning, it’s the unequal distribution of material in different areas. there’s a clear contrast between the poor and the rich, in Vietnamese, it goes as a idiom: “ke an khong het nguoi lan chang ra”. we can not totally blame the obese man as he enjoys what he have. just, his attitude is somehow selfish as you mention.

    • nguyenthihuyen September 22, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

      to some extent your point of view may be true, however, this picture is used to illustrated in a piece of news about the famine in Somali, in which the author criticized the selfish behavior of people who ignored the fate of the hungger, especially the children.

      anyway, many thanks for your comment! :X

  2. nguyenlelinh September 21, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    About the cartoon picture, I think both of you are right.
    The noticable detail in the picture is what he says: “Hey, most days my stomach hurts, TOO”.
    “Stomach hurt” may be caused by hunger or overfull. The man reads the news about east africa, which says the stomachs of the people there hurt because of hunger. And he talk to himself that his stomach also hurts. In his mind, his pain and their pain is not different. He ignores the different causes of the pains. He doesn’t feel sorry for them and keeps eating,not wanting to share his food with them.

    The picture contains two message.
    _The first one is the uneven distribution of food in the world. While East Frica has to suffer from Famine (mentioned in the newspaper), the American has to “suffer” from “obesity” ( mentioned in the man’s T-shirt).
    _The second one is the blameful attitude of the man (implies the American).

    The picture uses not only irony but also contrast device.

  3. buihoangdinh September 22, 2011 at 3:58 am #

    In the 1st Item A story, I don’t agree with you on the Metaphor analysis that Egypt’s Great Pyramids, Taj Mahal,….- somethings which are so complicated and far from easy for us to reach. It is not true.
    What’s more, i suppose that there’s another rhetorical device used in this story. It is climax. From the easiest to the hardest thing to do ( touch -> love)
    Also, i found an extra implication for this item that the emotions as human being are the greatest wonders of the world, the Creator.

  4. nguyenanhngoc09e24 September 22, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    To terms of the short story:
    I think another rhetorical device is climax: touch=>taste=>see=>hear=>feel=>laugh=>love
    We need to thank life for the pleasure in seeing wonderful creations.
    For the delight of hearing laughter and music,
    For the delight of knowing and touching others around us.
    For inspiring us to reach toward new knowledge, and heightened awareness.
    And for blending all of these experiences, touching, seeing, tasting, hearing all the wonderful things in order to feel to understand how precious life is, to laugh with the fun that life gives us, and at last, after all to love the life. Therefore, the most precious wonders we have is living and enjoying the life.
    Implication: Do we take more notice of the “wonders” man has built and tend to forget about the real wonders that life has given us? It is too easy for us to look at the exploits of man and refer to them as “wonders” while we overlook all life has done, regarding them as merely “ordinary.” these things mentioned in the story are truly wondrous

  5. hoangthilehang September 23, 2011 at 6:59 am #

    I like your story about the Greatest seven wonders of time. However, I suggest you should restate the message with your own words, not just copy the author’s conclusion =) to make sure that you understand it deeply. :-”

    The story is meaningfully far from simple things in life. Before thinking about things that we find hard to reach, look around us to find what we have had to learn to appreciate them. Once you lose simple but worth things, you’ll hardly be able to reach the others from the distance. If you can not “see”, all the Great Wall, the pyramids, etc. can not be “felt”.
    However, there is a thing I wonder about the teacher’s requirement :”list out 7 greatest wonders in the world” and the little girl’s reply “to touch, to taste,to see, to hear, to feel, to laught, to love”. Are thse 7 things exactly relate to “the world”? Rather, I think they belong to “the life” =). And, if possible, I’d change the title to be “the 7 greatest wonders of life”. But this is just a small thing about this item. Everything is okey =)

  6. duongthithuhuong September 29, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    In my perspective, in the first item the rhetorical devices are parallelism and antithesis. In the second item, the word “My mother” is repeated, so I think the rhetorical device is repetition.

  7. hoangthilehang September 30, 2011 at 5:29 am #

    @Dinh: Wow….I like your comment about the greatest wonder of the world “the Creator”. Indeed, all “Tajmahan”, “Great Wall”, etc…were made by human, but “to see, to touch,..to love” are made by the Creator that have shaped us.

Leave a Reply

